FateChart vs FateTell: which AI BaZi reading is worth your birth data?
Both products turn your birth date and time into a BaZi (Four Pillars) chart and let an AI explain it. The difference is what you get before you pay, how many systems you can cross-check, and where your birth data ends up.
Pick FateTell if you want one deep, card-by-card BaZi ‘FateBook’ and an I Ching tool inside an iOS app. Pick FateChart if you want the full chart data free without signing up, want to read the same birth in Western, BaZi, Zi Wei and numerology side by side, and prefer paying $3.99 for a reading instead of $39.99 for a book.
At a glance
| FateChart | FateTell | |
|---|---|---|
| Western natal chart | Yes Planets, houses, aspects, big three | No BaZi only |
| BaZi / Four Pillars | Yes Four pillars, day master, ten gods, five elements | Yes Core product; interpreted via the paid FateBook |
| Zi Wei Dou Shu | Yes 12 palaces, 100+ stars | No Not offered |
| Luck pillars (Da Yun) | Yes 10-year cycles with start ages | Yes Included in the FateBook |
| Numerology | Yes Life path, expression, soul urge, personality | No Not offered |
| Tarot | Yes Free spreads, 78 cards | No Not offered (I Ching instead, 5 uses/$4.99) |
| Compatibility / synastry | Yes Free score, rank up to 5 people | No Not offered as a scored tool |
| Celebrity charts | Yes Hundreds, auto-computed from public birth data | No Not offered |
| Life K-Line (life-long fortune curve) | Yes Ages 1–80 as a candlestick chart, free | No Not offered |
| AI interpretation | Yes Optional, clearly labelled as AI, paid | Yes Core product; ‘Grand Master’ chat 15 uses/$4.99; models from OpenAI/Anthropic/Gemini per its policy |
| Full chart data free, no account | Yes Every chart, every system | No Free tier = daily fortune + limited AI divinations; account required |
| Platforms | Web app — any phone or desktop browser, nothing to install | Web + iOS app (no Android found) |
| Languages | 8 (EN, 简中, 繁中, 日本語, 한국어, Tiếng Việt, ไทย, Indonesia) | English, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese |
| Calculation method disclosed | Yes Public methodology page: time zones, true solar time, schools | No Not published as a page |
| Birth data storage | Not stored on the server; kept only in your browser | Stored in Hong Kong; shared with LLM providers (privacy policy) |
| Cheapest full reading | US$3.99 (10 credits = 1 reading) · Fortune Pass US$9.99/mo for 10 | FateBook US$39.99 · 2026 Annual Report US$29.99 · yearly plan US$59.99 |
| PDF export & share link | Yes Report PDF + read-only share link | Not stated Not stated |
FateChart’s chart maths is deterministic; only the optional interpretation is AI-generated and is labelled as such.
Where FateTell is strong
- A single long-form ‘FateBook’ (10 cards, 10,000+ words in one profile) with a follow-up chat persona — good if you want one big document rather than several shorter readings.
- I Ching (Zhou Yi 64-hexagram) casting for yes/no questions, which FateChart does not offer.
- A native iOS app in the App Store (4.6 stars, 174 US ratings on 2026-09-11) with a daily-fortune habit loop.
- Voice reading of the FateBook is announced as ‘coming soon’ on its shop page.
Where FateChart is the better pick
Every chart is free, and you never create an account to see it
FateChart shows your complete BaZi pillars, day master, ten gods, five-element balance and luck pillars — plus your Western natal chart and Zi Wei Dou Shu palaces — with no sign-up. FateTell’s free tier is a daily fortune plus limited AI divinations; the interpreted chart lives behind the $39.99 FateBook.
Four systems from one birth time, not one
FateTell is BaZi only. FateChart casts Western natal, BaZi, Zi Wei Dou Shu and numerology from the same input, so you can check whether a theme repeats across traditions before you trust it.
$3.99 to try an AI reading instead of $39.99
A FateChart credit pack is $3.99 for 10 credits (one full AI reading; follow-up questions cost 3), or $9.99/month for the Fortune Pass. FateTell’s entry reading is the $39.99 FateBook, its 2026 annual report is $29.99, and its yearly plan is $59.99.
Your birth data stays in your browser
FateChart computes charts client-side and does not store your birth data on the server. FateTell’s privacy policy says birth data is stored in Hong Kong and shared with third-party LLM providers to generate readings.
Buy once, use on any device
FateChart is a web app: the same account works on your phone and desktop. FateTell’s shop states that iOS and web purchases are counted separately — ‘use it where you bought it’ — and payments are final.
Extras FateTell doesn’t have
Free tarot spreads, a free compatibility score that ranks up to five people, hundreds of celebrity charts, a Life K-Line curve of ages 1–80, PDF export and a shareable read-only report link — all included.
Switching from FateTell to FateChart
Enter the same birth date, time and city. Your BaZi pillars should match FateTell’s (both follow the standard solar-term calendar; FateChart also lets you toggle true solar time and shows which school it uses on the methodology page). Then open the Western and Zi Wei tabs for the same birth — that is the part FateTell cannot show you.
FateChart vs FateTell: common questions
Is FateChart a free alternative to FateTell?
Yes for the chart itself. FateChart shows your full BaZi, Zi Wei Dou Shu, Western natal chart and numerology for free without an account. Only the optional AI interpretation is paid, from US$3.99 for 10 credits.
Is FateChart an AI fortune teller like FateTell?
FateChart separates the two things FateTell bundles. The chart — four pillars, day master, ten gods, luck pillars, plus the Western and Zi Wei views — is computed deterministically and is free with no account. The AI reading is optional, clearly labelled as AI-generated, and costs 10 credits (US$3.99) rather than a US$39.99 FateBook. Neither product is a substitute for professional advice.
Does FateChart use the same BaZi calculation as FateTell?
Both derive the four pillars from the solar-term calendar. FateChart publishes its assumptions (time zone, true solar time, the schools it follows) on a public methodology page and lets you toggle true solar time, so you can see exactly why an hour pillar is what it is.
How much does an AI reading cost on each?
FateChart: US$3.99 for 10 credits (one full reading), US$14.99 for 60, or the US$9.99/month Fortune Pass. FateTell: the FateBook is US$39.99, the 2026 Annual Fortune Report US$29.99, ‘Grand Master’ chat 15 uses for US$4.99, and a yearly plan is US$59.99 (prices from its shop page on 2026-09-11).
Which one has an iPhone app?
FateTell has a native iOS app. FateChart is a web app that runs in Safari or Chrome on iPhone, Android and desktop with nothing to install, and one account works everywhere.
Is the AI reading labelled as AI on FateChart?
Yes. FateChart’s chart maths is deterministic and shown for free; the interpretation is clearly marked as AI-generated and is for reflection, not professional advice.
What happens to my birth data?
FateChart keeps it in your browser and does not store it on the server. FateTell’s privacy policy states birth data is stored in Hong Kong and shared with third-party LLM providers to produce readings.
FateTell details were checked on 2026-09-11 from its public website and app-store listings and may change; prices are as published by the vendor. FateTell is a trademark of its owner. FateChart is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by FateTell. Chart readings on either product are for reflection and entertainment, not professional advice.
More comparisons
See all four charts for the birth time you already typed into FateTell
No account, no card. If you later want an AI reading, it starts at US$3.99.